Latest Articles

Stuffed Cajun Belle Peppers and Bloody Mary Mix – RECIPE OF THE WEEK

Stuffed Cajun Belle Peppers and Bloody Mary Mix

As you begin to think about what you might plant in your garden this year, a must have is the Cajun Belle pepper.  Don’t let the name scare you…..it is what seems to be a mix of a sweet red pepper with a hint of heat.  Savory and sweet sensations meet in this highly producing, low maintenance pepper that is ideal for both traditional and container gardens.

Each plant produces hundreds of 2-3 inch peppers, with a small seed core that is easy to remove. The peppers can be picked at all different stages of ripeness, the more peppers you pick, the more you’ll get. Pick at any stage—from green to red.  The red peppers pack more heat than the green variety.  These peppers are packed with Vitamins A and C—twice the vitamin C of an orange. Use Cajun Belles for slicing into salsa, stir-fry, and salads. Chop these peppers into soups, omelets, and chili to add a sweet yet spicy pepper tang.  And they make a great quick and easy appetizer!

Stuffed Cajun Belle Peppers

Stuffed Cajun Belle Peppers

  •  12 Cajun Belle Peppers  (or more…..you are going to want more than one)
  •  1 pound of sweet ground sausage
  •  1 8oz bar of cream cheese

(Seriously, that is all you need)

Cut off the stem of the peppers.  Slice pepper from top to bottom to produce two pepper halves (boats).  Take out the seeds and ribs by scooping them out with a spoon.   If you like a lot of heat, keep some of the seeds loose in the pepper.  Brown sausage, drain, and return to skillet on low heat.  Add cream cheese in the warm skillet, and stir with sausage until fully mixed.  Remove from heat.  Fill each boat with cream cheese/sausage mixture and place in a baking dish.  Bake at 350 for approximately 15 minutes.


Wondering what to do with all that tomato juice you canned in the fall?  Besides the obvious use in soups and sauces, have you ever thought that “I could’ve had a V-8?”  Never in my deepest imagination would I have ever thought that I would be drinking that red juice with a ton of pepper added that was in my refrigerator when I was a child.  In fact, just the look of it sent chills down my spine. Well, this isn’t your parent’s V-8 — it’s time to kick it up a notch and bring tomato juice to a whole new level.

Blood Mary Mix

Bloody Mary Mix

  • 6 cups of tomato juice
  • 3 Tbsp. Worchestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp habanero sauce (or hot sauce)
  • ½ Tbsp. garlic salt
  • ½ Tbsp celery salt
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp crushed black pepper

Mix ingredients well.    Drink ‘as is’ for a warming, yet refreshing drink.  Add 1 1/2 oz. of vodka to a 12 oz. glass for a traditional Bloody Mary Drink.

10 Comments on Stuffed Cajun Belle Peppers and Bloody Mary Mix – RECIPE OF THE WEEK

  1. Pairing the Bloody Mary with the stuffed peppers is a great idea! I like to add a little horseradish to my Bloody Mary as well.

  2. The stuffed pepper look wonderful!

  3. Bloody Mary Mix, what about with a pickled asparagus stalk – (my first big harvest this year) what a joy! .. and I am writing a piece for you that I will email to you this coming week.. (it is harder than I thought- to write about why we do what we do! but the writing is a great clarifier). . will be in touch soon… c

    • What a great idea – pickled asparagus stalk! We will have to try that next time. Thanks for taking the time to write about your story, it really is a good way to go back and remember why we do what we do. Looking forward to it!

  4. Ahhh….those peppers sound divine. I’ve been laying off meat and dairy lately – and processed foods – sugar, white flours, caffeine, and alcohol! Well, alcohol for the most part. 😉 I’m living vicariously through you and your peppers right now!

    I’m part of a really cool food swap here in Brooklyn…folks get together and bring all kinds of homemade things – everything you can possible think of that is baked, canned, frozen, jarred, pickled, or otherwise preserved. Last time I scored some amazing homemade bloody mary mix and have been wondering ever since how to make some myself. I’m also testing how it freezes – my husband doesn’t like bloody marys (what??) and I just couldn’t drink that many, so I froze a jar and I’m eager to see how it holds up.

    Your recipe looks fantastic! I might throw in a hunk of horseradish, because I love it way too much. Guess I’m just going to have to hold a brunch one of these days to help me drink it!

    • The food swap really sounds like a neat idea – I’m sure you can get some great things there! It is amazing how much the fresh or canned tomato juice makes a difference to the recipe – so much more flavor than store bought!

      Mary

  5. My wife loves Caesars…which is what we call Bloody Mary’s here in Canada!

    • I had no idea that they were called Caesars up north…so neat to learn things from readers of the blog.

      • Apparently they were invented in Calgary, AB, which is 3 hours South of us. Wife loves them with celery of course, but also pickles…or best yet…pickled asparagus. Even I like that one…well, at least the pre-dipped pickled asparagus. Caesars are too spicy for me otherwise…prefer a nice cold beer!

      • Never knew that – wow…the things you learn! The pickled asparagus seems to be big from what we hear – and we had never heard of that either until tonight – we will have to try. Thanks for the info

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Cajun Belle Pepper – A great addition to your garden! « "The Farm" Old World Garden Farms

Leave a comment