Latest Articles

Sweet Heat for Your Meat! Our Hot and Spicy Ketchup Recipe – Fresh Or Canned

Sweet Heat for Your Meat.   That’s the name we jokingly came up with when we finally found the perfect blend of  ingredients to create our sweet and spicy home-made hot ketchup.  It’s surprisingly easy to make – and you simply cannot compare it to anything you can buy off the shelf in a store.  When it first hits your mouth – you can taste the pure sweetness from the tomatoes,  red pepper and brown sugar.  Then, slowly, the taste turns to a slow, low burning heat from the habanero and jalapeno peppers.  It’s a great condiment for hamburgers and hotdogs – or as a marinade for chicken.  You can even use it as a dipping sauce for potato chips, french fries or chicken nuggets.   My personal favorite though – is to substitute it in place of traditional ketchup for an incredibly flavorful meatloaf!  Once made, the ketchup will store in the fridge for months.  During our summer gardening season – we make larger batches and can it for use year round.

Old World Garden’s  “Sweet Heat for Your Meat”  Spicy Ketchup Recipe

The Ingredients :

7 medium tomatoes (Roma variety is the best)

2 jalapenos with seeds

1 habanero with seeds

1 red bell pepper

2 medium Vidalia onions

1/8 cup of chopped cilantro + 1 teaspoon of finely chopped cilantro

¼ cup of white vinegar

1 tablespoon of pepper

1 ½ tablespoons of sea salt

6 garlic cloves

½ tablespoon of red pepper flakes

¾ cup of brown sugar

1 can of tomato paste

Our Hot and Spicy Ketchup – Easy to make fresh – or can for year round use

Simply chop and dice your tomatoes, garlic, onions, cilantro and the red, jalapeno and habanero peppers.  Put all into a large pot, add the vinegar – and turn your burner on medium low.   As the pot starts to warm, slowly mash down the ingredients.  When it cooks down enough you can begin to blend it all together.  We use an immersion blender – but you can use a hand masher, hand mixer or food processor.  Once they are all blended together, continue to let the ingredients cook down and simmer for about another half-hour on low heat, then put through a colander to remove seeds and skins.  Put remaining product back into the  pot, add salt, pepper, brown sugar and tomato paste along with a tablespoon of finely chopped cilantro.   Let cook down until you reach your desired consistency.  Remember that once it cools it will become thicker.  We simply judge the consistency by putting a spoon in the pan, and if the ketchup doesn’t run off – it’s ready to go.  This is where the Roma tomato really helps, it is a great paste making tomato – and thickens the ketchup well.   If your mixture still seems a little too runny for your taste – you can add a teaspoon of corn starch to thicken it up.  Once it is ready – you are ready to bottle and use!  The ketchup will keep in the refrigerator for at least a month or two.  Or you can pressure can it for 20 minutes at 10 lbs. of pressure and have it ready for year round use!

24 Comments on Sweet Heat for Your Meat! Our Hot and Spicy Ketchup Recipe – Fresh Or Canned

  1. Lawrie - Johannesburg, South Africa // April 20, 2015 at 9:30 am // Reply

    Jim and Mary.
    I came across your blog early this morning and am impressed by your industriousness.
    I am very interested in this recipe as we don’t have ketchup as such here. We do have store-bought tomato sauces that overseas friends beg for!
    Adapting American recipes is sometimes difficult because cans, and the produce itself, seem much larger. Could you possibly give me weights of, e.g. the Roma tomatoes (pounds and ounces is fine, and I will calculate), and also the size of your can of tomato paste for this recipe? We changed from the Imperial system in 1973.
    I look forward to making this sauce in it’s milder form, and spicing it up as I go along.
    Do you have any photographs of the interior and layout of your home? How do you heat your water?
    Thank you, and be well.
    Lawrie

  2. does the recipe only use 7 tomatoes or should it be 7 pounds of tomatoes? the pictures look like you have used more.

  3. I just made the ketchup and mine isn’t as smooth as it looks like yours. Any suggestions?

  4. Jenny Wassell // January 26, 2014 at 12:17 pm // Reply

    Can you tell me if I was going to use a hot water bath to can this what is the recommended length of time to process it? Thanks

  5. What purpose does the can of tomato paste serve?

  6. Judy Gutzmer // July 21, 2013 at 10:17 am // Reply

    Do you share your recipe for your hot mustard? Maybe you already have, but I couldn’t seem to find it.

    • Hi Judy and thanks for writing to us! We have had quite a few questions on the mustard….We really try to share everything we can on our website and love doing so – however – the mustard recipe is an old family secret that Mary was sworn to keep private 😦 ….. (She deosn’t even let me know!! haha) We have to keep in good graces with the family! Thanks for stopping by the blog! Jim

  7. How much does this recipe make?

  8. Sounds great. I also wantto make a sweet and spicy ketchup……anyone have recipes?

  9. I have GOT to make some of this! I KNOW we will love it and oh man I bet it IS fine on meatloaf! I LOVE ketchup on my meatloaf. Although I will change the brown sugar to Stevia since I am a diabetic and am watching the sugars. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing the recipe with us.

  10. This sounds so good! Thank you for linking this up to the Carnival of Home Preserving.

  11. Hubby and son love spicy food, I will try this recipe and I bet they love it! Thanks for sharing

  12. Very clever name for your ketchup 🙂

    • Thanks Julie – we liked the name as well 🙂 sorry – i just now got your comments – they were stuck in spam – sorry about that – should go through from here on out now…thanks for stopping by the blog!

  13. I’m planning on starting a family soon and my husband to be and I don’t want to raise our kids on processed crap – like storebought ketchup. This sounds right up my alley – can’t wait to try it!! (Visiting from the Barn Hop)

  14. My husband would love this ~ thank you for sharing!

  15. We always can tons of tomato products. I bet this would be great with fried potatoes…. yum

  16. Yum! This looks awesome! I am still several months away from fresh tomatoes…but I will have to come back to this when they come in!

  17. I agree, Christmas here we come. I really need to plant more Roma’s maybe next year.

  18. Jim & Mary you just gave me another Christmas idea! I can’t wait to try this in June and July I will be canning up tomatoes and this will be one of my recipes! Thanks for sharing!

  19. I’ve been looking for a great ketchup recipe, I’ll have to try this when I start getting tomatoes out of the garden!

Leave a comment